Bells University of Technology Tuition-Free Agriculture Programmes 2027/2028: 2 Degree Options, Requirements, and Application Steps
Bells University of Technology Tuition-Free Agriculture Programmes 2027/2028
Bells University of Technology in Ota, Ogun State, waives tuition for its B.Tech Agriculture and Agricultural Technology degree and its B.Eng. Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering degree. The waiver applies to undergraduate students admitted into these programmes. It is a tuition waiver, not a full scholarship, so other fees remain payable. This article explains the programmes, the admission requirements, the application steps, and the details the university has not clearly published.
What Is the Bells University of Technology Tuition-Free Agriculture Programme?
It is a tuition waiver on agriculture-related undergraduate degrees at Nigeria’s first private university of technology. The university received its operating license on June 9, 2005, and began operations on July 1, 2005.
The waiver sits within the College of Food, Agricultural Science and Technology (COLFAST) and the College of Engineering. The official fees page, last updated in September 2026, lists the waived programmes and links a fee schedule for the 2027/2028 session (100 to 500 level). Applications for undergraduate programmes are listed as ongoing on the official admissions page.
The opportunity suits secondary school graduates, UTME candidates, Direct Entry candidates, and aspiring farmers who want a university degree in crop production, animal production, fisheries, agribusiness, or agricultural engineering.
Which Agricultural Programmes Does the Tuition Waiver Cover?
Two agriculture-focused degrees carry the waiver. The table below defines each programme by award, focus, and tuition status.
| Programme | Award | Focus Areas Stated by the University | Tuition Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (Agronomy option) | B.Tech | Crop production, soil management, sustainable farming practices | Waived |
| Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (Agribusiness option) | B.Tech | Agricultural knowledge combined with business principles, entrepreneurship, management | Waived |
| Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (Fisheries and Animal Sciences option) | B.Tech | Aquaculture, livestock management, animal nutrition, veterinary basics | Waived |
| Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering | B.Eng. | Agricultural machinery design, irrigation systems, farm automation | Waived |
The university’s fees page also waives tuition for other non-agricultural programmes. Examples include Biotechnology, Statistics, Building Technology, and Quantity Surveying. This article covers only the agriculture-related programmes.
What Does the Tuition Waiver Cover and What Do Students Still Pay?
The waiver covers tuition only. The university states that other components of the fee schedule are payable in four equal installments. Examples of other charges include acceptance fees, accommodation, examination fees, laboratory fees, ICT fees, and e-library fees, according to earlier published coverage of the programme.
The university describes the programmes as fully residential. Accommodation costs therefore apply. The official sources reviewed do not confirm any stipend, feeding allowance, or book allowance. Current amounts appear in the 2026/2027 fee schedule on the university’s school fees page.
Payments go through the university portal by Mastercard or Verve debit card. The university states that it does not accept bank transfers or bank deposits.
What Are the Admission Requirements for Agriculture and Agricultural Technology?
Applicants need five O’Level credits, a qualifying UTME subject combination, or the Direct Entry qualifications listed below. The official undergraduate requirements page covers all three routes.
The O’Level requirements are:
- Five credits obtained in one or two sittings
- English Language and Mathematics as compulsory credits
- Any three subjects from Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Agricultural Science, Geography, Economics, or an agriculture-related trade subject such as Food and Nutrition, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, Livestock Farming, Horticulture, and Crop Production
The UTME subjects are English Language, Chemistry, and any two from Biology, Physics, Mathematics, or Agricultural Science.
The Direct Entry (200 level) qualifications are:
- Two A’Level passes including Chemistry and any of Biology, Physics, or Mathematics
- An ND, HND, or NCE at Lower Credit in Agricultural Science, Biology (Botany or Zoology), Chemistry, Food and Nutrition, Home Economics, or a related discipline
What Are the Admission Requirements for Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering?
The engineering degree requires stronger Physics and Mathematics credentials. The official requirements page states the following:
- O’Level: five credits in one or two sittings, including English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and one other science or social science subject
- UTME subjects: English Language, Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry
- Direct Entry: two A’Level passes in science subjects including Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry
- Other Direct Entry routes: an ND or HND in an engineering course or Food Science and Technology at Lower Credit, or an NCE (Technical) with a credit in Mathematics, Physics, and one other science subject
Who Is Eligible, and What Strengthens an Application?
Eligibility rests on academic qualifications. The mandatory requirements are the O’Level credits, UTME subjects, or Direct Entry qualifications stated above.
Several details are not clearly provided in the sources reviewed:
- Age limit: not stated
- Nationality or residency: not clearly stated for the current session (an earlier official post referred to Nigerian students)
- Minimum UTME score: not stated in the pages reviewed
- Factors that strengthen an application: not specified
The university describes these programmes as highly competitive because of the tuition waiver. Applicants can confirm cut-off marks and screening details with the admissions office.
An earlier official post stated that admission was through JUPEB (A’Level). The current requirements page lists UTME and Direct Entry routes. Applicants can confirm the active pathway with the university.
How Do You Apply for the Bells University Tuition-Free Programmes?
Applications go through the university’s online admissions system. The steps below follow the official pages.
- Confirm the O’Level, UTME, or Direct Entry requirements for the chosen programme.
- Register for UTME with the correct subject combination, if applying as a first-year candidate.
- Open the official undergraduate application link (student.bellsuniversity.edu.ng) and select UTME/Direct Entry application, or Transfer application.
- Upload the required academic documents. The official post does not list the exact documents.
- Complete any assessment or screening the university schedules.
- Wait for the admission notification through official channels.
- Pay the acceptance fee through the undergraduate registration portal (apply.bellsuniversityportal.com), if admitted.
The Registrar’s office lists its phone number as 08139327665 for enquiries. Dates, documents, fees, and selection procedures can change, so applicants need to read the official instructions before submitting.
What Is the Application Deadline?
The closing date is not clearly provided. The official admissions page lists applications as ongoing and gives no deadline. Applicants can check the admissions page or contact the Registrar for current dates.
What Practical Learning Does the Programme Offer?
The university states that COLFAST has laboratories, research facilities, and demonstration farms. The college aims to contribute to food production, preservation, storage, quality assurance, and processing of agricultural products.
The undergraduate page states that laboratories and practical workshops are equipped for work preparation. The official sources reviewed do not describe a compulsory internship placement, mentorship scheme, or enterprise funding for these degrees. The university also lists a Centre for Agricultural Technology and Entrepreneurial Studies, but programme details for that centre were not verified.
What Careers Can Agricultural Education Lead To?
Agricultural degrees can lead to careers in production, management, research, and technology. The university lists agricultural research and development, farm management and consulting, agricultural technology companies, government agricultural agencies, and international agricultural organizations as career areas.
Relevant roles include:
- Agronomists, who advise on crop and soil management
- Farm managers, who direct daily farm operations
- Agribusiness managers, who handle marketing, finance, and supply chains
- Aquaculture specialists, who manage fish production
- Livestock specialists, who oversee animal nutrition and herd health
- Agricultural engineers, who design irrigation systems and farm machinery
- Agricultural consultants and extension officers, who support farmers with technical advice
A degree does not guarantee employment, business funding, or income. The university makes no such guarantee.
What Should Applicants Confirm Before Applying for the Tuition-Free Agriculture Programmes?
Applicants can confirm five points on the official pages: the programme, the requirements, the fees, the portal, and the deadline. The Bells University tuition waiver applies to B.Tech Agriculture and Agricultural Technology and B.Eng. Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering. Students pay all non-tuition fees, including accommodation. The closing date is not published. The university’s admissions page, fees page, and Registrar’s office remain the authoritative sources.





